top of page
  • Writer's pictureSainey Darboe

APRC leader disparages Solo Sandeng, calls for release of NIA officers accused of his murder

Gambia: 1 October | By Sainey Darboe

APRC interim leader, Fabakary Tombong Jatta, has declared Solo Sandeng’s life is not better than those who died before him, as he called for release of former senior NIA officers standing trial for his death.

APRC Interim leader Jatta (R) calls for President Barrow to pardon alleged killers of Solo Sandeng

The former intelligence top brass included quondam director Yankuba Badjie, director of operations Sheikh Omar Jeng, officers Baboucar Sallah, Haruna Suso, Tamba Mansareh, Lamin Darboe, and Lamin Lang Sanyang.

One of the accused persons Louise Gomez, a former deputy director at the NIA died in custody during the course of the trial. One of the accused persons,Yusupha Jammeh, was acquitted by the court at the request of the state.

The intelligence operatives are facing trial on numerous offences ranging from conspiracy to commit felony, assault causing serious bodily harm, murder and making false documents among others in which they all denied wrongdoing.

Speaking during a press conference organized by APRC yesterday, Fabakary Tombong Jatta issued a plaintive appeal to the head of state:

Solo Sandeng at a protest calling for electoral reforms that led to his tragic death in 2016

“I hereby urge Adama Barrrow to release or grant bail to the following people who are currently at Mile 2 prisons:The NIA 9 who over the past three years have undergone trial.If you remember and recall former AG Ba Tambadou appointed private lawyers to prosecute NIA 9 and paid them over D40M including his own senior brother Sheriff Tambadou.All this mainly for Solo Sandeng as if Solo Sandeng’s life matters more than anybody that has passed away. Haruna Jatta up to today no report much more commission of enquiry. Much more prosecution.With the spread of Covid 19 and especially within the ranks of prisoners we want to appeal that he pardons them”.


Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
bottom of page