top of page
  • Writer's pictureGunjurOnline Sport

GAMFOOT Reward outstanding performers in The Gambia Football Federation Leagues

The Gambia Football Players Association (Gamfoot) has successfully staged its maiden awards night where they recognized and rewarded the performance of some outstanding players in the Gambia Football Federation male and female first and second division leagues.

Over 45 awards were handed to players in different categories, while some senior and former players like Momodou Ceesay (Zico), Assan Ceesay and others were as well decorated.

It was a gathering of the football family by Gamfoot for the first time, aimed at celebrating and recognizing the achievements of the country's footballers in the past league season.

It's the dream of every young player to receive individual accolades and the nominees in the different categories were one after the other introduced to the audience.

The John Bass, the president of Gamfoot hailed the importance of the event.

"This event is a reflection of the progress of the league even though more improvement is needed. At Gamfoot we will continue to support our members which is the players" Bass said.

In what was a highly attended event, different sporting personalities, representatives of the different clubs and family members graced the glamorous night.

Yankuba Sabally (M) won the goalkeeper of the season award for Division One, Ebrima Jarju( R), First Runner-up and Pa Ebou Dampha (L), Second Runner-up

The Gambian League champions Fortune F.C Yankuba Sabally and Interior F.C Aminata K. Darbo were voted goalkeepers of the season in the male and female division one league, while Sainey Trawally of Gunjur United and Diminga Mendy of Berewuleng were the stand out goalkeepers in the division two male and female.

Gambia Armed Forces Saikouba Ceesay and Interior's Catherine Jatta both of whom scored 13 goals in the male and female first division leagues respectively, received the golden boot award. While in the division two male and female, Kaddy Jarju of Future Bi F.C who scored 29 goals including five hat tricks and Sankung Sillah and Adama Saidy who were tied on 18 goals in the top-scoring chat won the category.

Sainey Trawally of Gunjur United receiving the goalkeeper of the season award for Division Two

The young player of the season award in the division one male went to Abdoulie Manneh of Wallidan F.C, while in division two it was Bakary Ceesay of Team Rhino and Teddy S. Jatta of Berewuleng F.C who scooped that award.

And ultimately, the player of the season awards in the male and female first division were won by Catherine Jatta of Interior F.C and Lamin Saidykhan of Fortune F.C respectively while in division two it was Yusupha Njie of B4U Kiang West for men and Abbie Marie Sambou of Berewuleng for the women division two league.

Bakary Ceesay of Team Rhino won the Division Two Young Player of the season

This was a joyful moment for the winners.

"Am very much happy to score that magnificent goal. I will continue to work hard to score more of that kind. Bernard want to see himself in the top five leagues in Europe, with hard work, I'll get there soon" Bernard Sylva of Fortune F.C the winner of the best goal of the season award said.

Aminata K. Darboe was full of praises for her mum, "I don't even know how I'm feeling, I would like to thank my mum for the continuous support. I'm her only female child who plays football and she keep supporting me". She said.

"This award means a lot to me, it shows that the Police are not only good in arresting people but goalkeeping as well". Aminata added.

Aminata K. Darboe receiving the award for goalkeeper of the season in the female First Division

Another winner was Sainey Trawally and he said this, " this award shows I'm on track, my dad was a goalkeeper so I want to make him proud by becoming a professional footballer and I'm working towards it".

Other awards were as well given to first and second runner-up in each category.

The award ceremony went into the early hours of Sunday, but the fulfilled event was truly a historic moment.


Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
bottom of page