top of page
  • Writer's pictureGunjurOnline Sport

Football: DIEGO FC are Champions of Kaajabang

DIEGO FC are the crowned champions of Kaajabang after defeating Kaajabang United in a thrilling final held on Saturday. The hard fought encounter ended in a 2-2 stalemate in regulation time. The tournament was organised by Kaajabag Sports Committee.

The game proceeded to a post-match penalty shoot out to decide the winner. DIEGO FC won the penalty shoot-out and were crowned champions following heroics from their skillful goal keeper Abdoulie Daboe who made two saves to deny Kaajabang United.

Speaking after the finals, Hon. Momodou Charreh Gibba, Ward Councillor for Gunjur who presented the giant trophy to the champions had this to say: 

“ I feel deeply honored and extremely excited that I am privileged to make a presentation of the trophy to the Champions. From the bottom of my heart, I thank Kajabang Sports Committee for a very successful and well organised tournament. There was a lot of fanfare and the supporters were amazing. I am so grateful indeed.”

Kaajabang is a vibrant community in Gunjur who is engaged in many activities from health promotion through sponsored walks, marathons, football competitions and cultural events with a view to promoting social cohesion and community integration.


Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
bottom of page