top of page
  • Writer's pictureGunjur Online

Fabakary Tombong Jatta is new Speaker of National Assembly of The Republic of The Gambia

Hon. Fabakary Tombong Jatta, a veteran politician has been elected unopposed as the Speaker of the National Assembly of The Republic of The Gambia. The veteran APRC politician is one of the five nominated members of the house by Gambian President H.E Adama Barrow.

The proceedings of the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected members of the National Assembly was initially presided over by Hon. Chief Justice Hassan B. Jallow which saw the dramatic and controversial election of Speaker Fabakary Tombong Jatta.

Gambians were dismayed when news broke of the Presidential nomination of Fabakary Tombong Jatta, Seedky Njie and Fatoumata Jawara as part of the five nominated members of the National Assembly on Tuesday. Many commentators condemned the three nominations citing the role of Fabakary and Seedy during the government of exiled former Gambian leader Yahya Jammeh.

During the proceeding, UDP's Brikama North MP countered the nomination of Fabakary Tombong Jatta by nominating Kebba Lang Fofana (also a presidential nominee) as Speaker which was seconded by Hon. Madi Ceesay of UDP Serekunda West. Unsurprisingly, Hon. Fofana declined the nomination which but confirmed Hon. Fabakary Tombong Jatta as duly elected as Speaker of the Sixth Legislature.

Fabakary Tombong Jatta taking the prescribed oaths following his election as Speaker

Seedy Njie reflects as he was announced as Deputy Speaker of the house

Hon. Jatta then took over the proceedings from Hon. Chief Justice Assan B. Jallow to complete the election of the Deputy Speaker of the house. Again, following the nomination of Seedy Njie as deputy speaker, the Brimaka North NAM rose to counter nominate Hon. Kebba Lang Fofana, which was again seconded by Hon. Madi Ceesay. Hon. Fofana again declined the nomination paving way for Hon. Seedy Njie to be elected as deputy speaker.

The assembly continued proceedings with the swearing-in of all the elected and nominated members of the assembly for the next five years.


Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
Copyright: 2017 - 2022 | GunjurOnline™
bottom of page